Thought of the day – with J2: Sushi for Seven

01Feb09

My family and I have crazy schedules and are rarely ever all together at the same time.  So, since the opportunity presented itself last night, we decided to go out.

There is a movie theater in our area that shows movies for $1.50, which is a steal and very tempting. What money they sacrifice in ticket sales, they make up for at the concession stands. Therefore, we try to make sure we are full before going, so as not to be tempted by the golden, buttery popcorn or lured in by the sugary goodness of the snowcaps, good ‘n plenty’s, reese’s pieces, etc.

Our choice for sustanance last night was what I would consider the best sushi bar I’ve ever eaten at. My daughter had the steamed shrimp and my wife and I split a sushi and sashimi combo platter and a bowl of miso soup (my son got himself into trouble and therefore was left behind with grandmama).

As the food came out, we noted that it seemed that they just kept bringing things we were sure we didn’t order. So eventually, the chef showed us a piece of paper that, sure enough, my wife had been making marks on to figure out what she wanted and what it was going to cost. What happened was, they read those marks as orders. So, to recap, there were 3 of us and there were about 6 or 7 meals marked.

We felt pretty awful about the confusion so a couple of the things they brought out we kept, to include the eel, the smelt roe,  and the octopus. All in all, it was a fantastic experience.

After the confusion had ended and the dust had settled, I half-jokingly told my wife that she was no longer allowed to mark on the paper when we went to the sushi bar. The woman nearly cost me a fortune!

My Question: If this sort of thing happened to you, how would you handle it?



2 Responses to “Thought of the day – with J2: Sushi for Seven”

  1. Ha, J2–that is so funny! Not when you got the bill, though, I’ll bet! I have yet to try sushi–not because I think I wouldn’t like it, but for a couple of reasons, one of which would be that I have heard of the legendary prices. Also, my husband is appalled at the idea of raw fish. 😉

    I guess I would have done the same thing you did–keep a few of the dishes and sent back the rest. What else can you do? Anyway, I hope you had a great night out on the town. 🙂

    God bless, Cindy

  2. Wish we could have been there. Sounds like some family fun.


Leave a comment